In 2014 the Foundation Modern East Asia Research Centre (MEARC) received a grant through the Leiden University Fund. The grant originated from the Vaes-Elias Fund. The board and directors of the centre decided to use these funds to put MEARC on a completely new footing including a change of governance structure as well as a change of name. The Foundation LeidenAsiaCentre was officially launched in January 2016.

Following the advice of the Supervisory Council, the LeidenAsiaCentre revised its structure in 2018. The former board of three directors, consisting of Prof. Dr Frank Pieke (executive director), Prof. Dr Katarzyna Cwiertka (director), and Prof. Dr. Remco Breuker (director), was replaced by single leadership. As of November 2018, Dr Florian Schneider is taking on this role.

The LeidenAsiaCentre and its Supervisory Council is grateful for the commitment and expertise that the founding directors Prof. Pieke, Prof. Cwiertka, and Prof. Breuker brought to the centre.


Florian Schneider


Lily Sprangers


Emma Burgers

Merle van Laake

Jonas Lammertink

Eric Zhang


Vincent Chang

Friso Dubbelboer


Rogier Creemers

Tycho de Feijter

Matt Ferchen

Mohammadbagher Forough

Richard Ghiasy

Ingrid d’Hooghe

Stacey Links

Sanne van der Lugt

Irma Mosquera Valderrama

Frank Pieke

Frans-Paul van der Putten

Michael Sampson

Saori Shibata

Ruben Vincente Gonzalez

Anoma van der Veere

Jue Wang


A Supervisory Board (Raad van Toezicht) will meet twice a year to ensure that the activities undertaken by the LeidenAsiaCentre reflect the decision of the various governing bodies of the centre.

As of September 16th 2019, the composition of the Supervisory Board is as follows:

• Chair: Dr. Ben Knapen, Senator
• Prof. Dr. Mark Rutgers, Dean of the Humanities Faculty
Constance de Klerk-Waller, Former Chair Leiden University Fund
Marie José Alting von Geusau, Former Manager CNV Internationaal
Alexander Doorman, Partner Global Transactions Freshfields
Ed Kronenburg, Former ambassador to China
Jan Anne Schelling, Director human relations Royal IHC

Members are appointed in a personal capacity, with the exception of the Dean of the Humanities Faculty and the Chair of Leiden University Fund (LUF).

The LeidenAsiaCentre receives input from the International Advisory Council for its overall strategy. Consisting of academics and executives working on (East) Asia and drawn from a variety of disciplines and perspectives, this body will meet once a year to review the research and outreach activities of the centre, to advise on relevant developments and to strengthen the LeidenAsiaCentre network.

The International Advisory Council consists of:

• Prof. Bill Callahan London School of Economics
• Prof. Valerié Gélèzeau EHESS (Paris/IIAS)
• Prof. (mw) Emiko Ochiai Kyoto University
• Dr. Philippe Peycam Director International Institute Asian Studies (Leiden)
• Prof. Jennifer Robertson Michigan, Ann Arbor
Monika Sie Dhian Ho Director Netherlands Institute for International Relations Clingendael
Lay Hwee Yeo European Union Centre/Singapore Institute of International Affairs/National University of  Singapore
Bert Hofman Director of the East Asian Institute at the National University of Singapore
Haruko Satoh Osaka School of International Public Policy/OSIPP-IAFOR Research Centre